Motivation for making game

My plan for this blog was to have posts about making games. So you might ask…

Where on earth are the posts about making games!?!

Ok, I guess I should realize keeping up a blog is not that easy. I always have this game making tutorial in mind I’m planning, but that’s actual work. I shouldn’t really feel work when I write this blog. After all, I do this partly to feel relaxed.

Ok, but where comes the part about making game?

Well, I’ll tell you what. I’m just gonna blable about motivation for making game. That’s gonna fill up one post, and it’s not as energy consuming as writing up a tutorial.

So some of you might want to create a game, but it’s either too hard to do, too time consuming, or the simplest and purest excuse: I have no idea how to do that.

Well, that’s kinda the thing. There aren’t many schools that actually teach how to make a game. A lot of things in life won’t be learned by sitting in a classroom (things like learning how to cook, how to dance, or how to play video games). Making a game is one of them. I could tell you all the blabble that it’s all about passion, etc… but I don’t think it would help. It’s true though that it’s all about passion, and that’s the reason you’ll have to self-learn.

Self-learning might come from books, online tutorial, but primarily it needs to come yourself… ok that didn’t make any sense. By that, I mean that you have to be curious about some aspect in making games. There are little small things that make up a game. When I made my first game, I didn’t think about a whole “Super Mario”, a whole “Zelda” or “Street Fighter”. I simply thought about making a circle go up when I press “UP”, go left when I press “LEFT”… Then I got curious about making something disappear when the circle overlaps another circle… eventually, all the small interactions where building blocks that allowed me to produce my first game (World of Turtle, all in ASCII characters).

Basically you have to start small. Even if you have no coding experience, there are some simple basic interactions that you can implement with minimal learning. How about an adventure game, where you click on links to decide what actions to do. This can be done simply with a webpage editor!

To produce a game, you can have your dream set on the big thing, but you should have actual goals set on small achievable tasks. Once you become proficient at making a circle move around, you can move on to think about gravity, collisions, keeping score… things like that.

By planning small achievable goals, you turn your attitude to “active”, rather than passively waiting for things to get done. Of course you can’t develop the next Starcraft without a whole team of artists and engineers. There are so many elements: animation, UI, path finding, networking… but you can definitely make a circle move with your arrow keys, and with some imagination, you can turn that into a game.

Even if what you make doesn’t turn into a successful game, it is still worth the time, because you learn from it. Eventually, you’re accumulating skills and experience about making games, which can lead you to work on projects involving more people. On top of that, you’ll know what it takes to make a game, you’ll be able to learn independently, and you’ll have the confidence to make a game knowing it’s not all witchcraft.

The road to making a game might be long and difficult, but it is clear and visible. Don’t just believe that you can do it, but know that you can do it… and do it!

About jacklehamster

Technocraft and internet developer

Posted on June 25, 2013, in Game Development, Making Games and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Pingback: URL

Leave a Reply

