My Champion references

Now that i only have an iPad, I can no longer code! Until that changes, the only productive thing to do is to write stupid blog posts. Anyway, here are all the fun references used in my latest Ludum Dare game, My Champion!

#1: Shaolin Soccer
I’m a big fan of Stephen Chow, and the story of my champion is inspired by Shaolin Soccer, where Stephen Chow’s team get beaten up by the opponents. One of the gorilla is name is Stephen Chowfun, and the female kitten in coop mode is named Vicky, after Vicky Zhao.

#2: Olive et Tom
It’s a Japanese anime I used to watch in France. The main hero is named Oliver like in the cartoon. Also, the gorilla’s goalkeeper is dressed exactly like Tom, and it’s name is Thomas Prince! (Thomas Price) in the cartoon.

#3: Les Inconnus / Bernard Tapie
One of the sketches from Les Inconnus makes fun of Bernard Tapie, a coach who calls all his players Toshiba. In “My Champion”, coach Bernar Tapo has no idea about his players’ names. He first calls Oliver as Toshiba (in the French translation), and later only refers to him as towel boy.

#4: The Waterboy
In Adam Sandler’s “The Waterboy”, there’s a reference to a towel boy who didn’t fare the same fate as the Waterboy, and ran into a “laundry list of problems”. In My Champion, Oliver is the towel boy who only carries towels for the other player. The unfortunate situation forces him to play on the field, alone vs 11 players! Coincidently, Vicky, the female cat in My Champion, is also the character name of the Waterboy’s love interest.

#5: Famous soccer players
I named most gorillas after soccer players I knew, and other ones I discover by googling famous soccer players. Here’s a sneak peak: David Beckon, Michel Panini, Diego Maradonut, …

About jacklehamster

Technocraft and internet developer

Posted on January 1, 2014, in Game Development, Making Games and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. They come in a variety of diy reodeling materials like cotton, yarn
    or silk is used for upholstery and bed covering. It is as
    you removed from normmal living to a lwss fulfilling,
    more restrictive style. Let’s look at a particular contractor in mind for your own use, such as this turning out well.
    Second – the outside of your ome to reflect intricate light pattrns tthrough thee apertures of the covers/lampshades put over
    the lighted diyas.

  2. I will immediately grab your rss as I can not in finding your e-mail subscription hyperlink or newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Please permit me know in order that I may just subscribe.
    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

