Online tool for making 8-bit retro graphics from PNG

So personally, I don’t really make 8-bit games, but I know a lot of gamedevs do. There’s one thing I would love to see more in your 8-bit games: CUTSCENES!

And I found the perfect tool to help you achieve that ;-). It’s an online tool (no download) found here: http://c64.superdefault.com/

I encountered this site when I was looking for a PNG to 8-bit retro converter. The naive approach was to scale a picture down, save it, then scale it up to make it look pixelated. That actually failed big time, simply because the result was too rich in color. It clearly looked like a scaled up photo rather than a retro graphic. There are a few tutorials that showed how to do it right using photoshop, but for the lazy type like me, I found that the online tool works best! Just look at this awesome 8-bit photo of Nicolas Cage below!

Image

About jacklehamster

Technocraft and internet developer

Posted on February 13, 2014, in Game Development, Making Games and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment